South Africa to expand new e-Visa System

On March 11, 2020 / by Sherone Lewis / Leave a comment

the northern (41)

The Department of Home Affairs in South Africa will expand its e-Visa system in the coming months, making it easier for tourists to enter the country thanks to the online capture of visa applications and biometric information.

In a parliamentary presentation, the Department of Home Affairs indicated that it has successfully piloted an e-visa in Kenya, with plans to extend the pilot to India, Nigeria and China over the course of this quarter.

The South African e-Visa is going to be available to a great range of nationalities and it is expected to replace short-term traditional tourist visas in the long run.

Currently, the majority of foreigners must apply for a traditional tourist visa as part of their requirements to travel to South Africa. Holders of passports issued by 52 specific countries can travel to South Africa visa-free for stays of up to 90 days while 28 countries are allowed visa-free stays of up to 30 days.

The e-Visa is not the only measure taken to facilitate movement and foreign tourism. The South African government has recently signed new agreements that will grant visa-free status to 6 more countries — Cuba, New Zealand, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sao Tome and Principe, and the United Arab Emirates. The government is also committed to a more connected continent open to freer movement.

If you’re looking for assistance with your visa, we’re here to help! By using an immigration consultant, you also get the peace of mind of knowing that your application is in the hands of someone up to date on all immigration legislation. Our immigration consultants know relocation procedures back to front.

If you’re looking to use an Immigration consultant for all your immigration needs, make sure you get in touch with us today!

The following two tabs change content below.
Sherone Lewis

Sherone Lewis

Comments are closed here.